Kathryn McClatchy Flash Fiction Contest

2019 Contest is open for submissions!

NEW in 2019: All submissions will receive feedback from judges.

Beginning in 2015, the Writers Guild of Texas (WGT) began hosting an annual Flash Fiction contest. If you are unfamiliar with flash fiction, check out Flash Fiction Online and Flash Fiction FAQs on Writer's Digest.


  • Submissions must be original works that have not been previously published online or in print.

  • Word count must be between 3001,000 words. Even though they are short short stories, flash fiction must still include character development, plot, setting, theme, and conflict.

  • No poetry, essays, fan fiction, erotica, porn, graphic sex, or gratuitous violence will be accepted.

  • Submission fees are as follows:

    • WGT members may submit one entry at no cost. Additional submissions cost $15 per entry.

    • Non-members must pay a $35 submission fee for their first entry. Additional submissions cost $15 per entry.
      (The $35 fee grants the payee a complimentary WGT membership through December of the following year.)

  • Individuals may submit a maximum of three entries.

  • No simultaneous submissions will be accepted. Each entry must be submitted in a separate, individual email.


  • one-inch margins; double-spaced; 12-point Times New Roman font;

  • title and page number must be in the upper right-hand header;

  • author name must NOT be on any story page.

  • Story document should be sent as an email attachment in .doc, .docx, .rtf, or .pdf format, and the email body must include: author's name, story title, and total word count.


  • Opening – The story immediately engages the reader's attention. The tone, setting, and point of view are quickly established.

  • Characterization – The characters are well defined, exhibit believable motivation, are distinct from one another.

  • Style – The point of view and verb tense are clear and consistent. The narrative flows smoothly with precise, engaging language and more often "shows" rather than "tells."

  • Mechanics – The story has almost no grammatical, spelling, nor punctuation errors.

  • Plot – The story is original and progresses logically with a definitive beginning, middle, and end.

  • Conflict – The conflict — whether "man versus nature," "man versus man," or "internal" — is easily identified, pressing, and imperative to the plot.

  • Resolution – Tension mounts throughout the story, resulting in a climax, which is followed by a satisfying resolution.

  • Impression – The story is emotionally or intellectually engaging. The story and characters are memorable and will leave a lasting impression.


  • Winners will be announced and prizes awarded at the WGT Holiday Party on Monday December 16, 2019. If you are unable to attend, you will be notified after the party.

  • Cash prizes will be awarded to the top four stories:

    • 1st Place: $150;

    • 2nd Place: $100;

    • 3rd Place: $50;

    • Honorable Mention: $25.

  • All four winning stories will be published the following year in the WGT newsletter and on the WGT website.


  • The 2019 contest opens for entries on Tuesday, October 1st. No early entries will be accepted.

  • Stories must be submitted prior to 11:59pm (central time) Friday, October 25, 2019. No late entries will be accepted.


  • Be sure you have read all of the above guidelines.

  • If applicable, use the the button below to pay your entry fee(s) and be sure to include your *order number* in your submission email.

  • Email submissions to: wgtcontest@gmail.com

  • You will receive confirmation of receipt, usually within 48 hours.

Contest Winners


1. “Any Dang Fool” by Brian Condike
2. “The Bridge” by Sabrina Chapman
3. “A Purple Lizard” by Mary Lou Condike
HM. “Handcuffs” by Mary Lou Condike


1. "Spin Me, Charlie" by Leah Hinton
2. "A Dark Fog" by Leah Hinton
3. "Goldie" by Sabrina Chapman
HM. "Tiny Steps" by Steve McCluer


1. "The Visiting Professor" by Deborah Bean
2. "Blue" by Leah Hinton
3. "Everything Changes" by Edgar Collie
HM. "Dream Game" by Seth Eckholm